Thrissur Rural Police District falls under Thrissur Range which comes under North ZoneMukundapuram, Chalakudy and Kodungallur and Parts of Thrissur and Chavakkad Taluks consisiting of 100 Revenue villages comes under the jurisdiction of Thrissur Rural Police.

Thrissur Rural Police unit has its boundary with Thrissur City Police unit, Palakkad district, Malappuram district, Ernakulam rural District, Tamilnadu State and Arabian Sea on the Western Side.

The District Police Office, District Special Branch, District Head Quarters (Administration), District Crime Records Bureau, Districts Crime Branch, Cyber Cell, Women Cell, and Telecommunication Unit are housed at the head quarters at Ayyanthole. Tourism Police functions at Athirapilly. For the maintenance of law and order Thrissur Rural Police Unit is subdivided into 3 Sub Divisions, 21 Police Stations.

The Revenue District of Thrissur is divided as Thrissur City and Rural Police Districts vide GO (MS)No.32/11/Home dated 05.02.2011 and GO(MS)No.64/11/Home dated 26.02.2011 and there are separate District Police Chiefs for City and Rural Police Districts.

As per GO(MS) 85/2018/Home Dated 19.05.2018, at present the South Side of Thrissur District belongs to Thrissur Rural Police District and now there are 3  Sub Divisions, 21 Police Stations are in Rural District including one Coastal Police Station at Azhekode, One Cyber Crime Police Station at Irinjalakuda and One Vanitha Police Station at Irinjalakuda . Apart from this,  One Police Control Room is working at Kodungallur.

The District Police is headed by a Superintendent of Police of IPS Cadre designated as District Police Chief, assisted by Deputy Superintendents of Police, Inspectors, Sub Inspectors, Assistant Sub Inspectors, Senior Civil Police Officers, Civil Police Officers numbering around 1014 and approximately 13,000 Cases are being handled per annum. In addition to this there is about 58 ministerial staff and 22 Part time sweepers that helps the staff officers in various administrative/ service related matters.

The geographical features of Thrissur Rural Police District are very vast and wide areas, its boundaries are comprising of Irinjalakuda, Chalakudy and Kodungallur Sub Divisions consisting of 21 Police Stations including Coastal Police Station at Azhekode, One Cyber Crime Police Station and One Vanitha Police Station. Apart from this, One Police Control Room is also functioning at Kodungallur The boundaries of Malakkapara Police Station are being shared with neighboring state of Tamilnadu.

The Police District is divided into Sub Divisions and Police Stations each headed by the Officer of the rank of Deputy Superintendent of Police, Inspector of Police/ Sub Inspector of Police respectively. Earlier, there were 8 number of Circles in the District, which were abolished during 2019 after the introduction of ISHO system.

The jurisdictional layout of the Thrissur Rural Police District is given below:


Irinjalakuda Sub-Division Chalakudy Sub-Division Kodungallur Sub-Division
Irinjalakuda Police Station Chalakudy Police Station Kodungallur Police Station
Kattoor Police Station Koratty Police Station Mathilakam Police Station
Cherpu Police Station Athirapilly Police Station Kaipamangalam Police Station
Anthikad Police Station Malakkapara Police Station Valappad Police Station
Mala Police Station Kodakara Police Station Vatanapilly Police Station
Aloor Police Station Pudukkad Police Station Azheekode Coastal Police Station
Vanitha Police Station Vellikulangara Police Station Kodungallur Control Room
  Varandarapilly Police Station  

  The long coastal belt on the western side of the Thrissur Rural Police District which   is approximately 40 kilometers is sensitive as politically and communally. There are many communal and political hot-spots within Kodungallur, Mathilakam, Valappad, Vatanappilly Police Station limits along the coast. 

Last updated on Wednesday 15th of June 2022 PM