Thrissur is known as the cultural capital of Kerala and the 'land of Poorams'. Thrissur Rural police district is situated at the central part of the Kerala state. Spanning an area of about 3,032 kms, Thrissur district is home to over 10% of Kerala population. Thrissur Rural district is bordered by the districts of Palakkad and Thrissur City to the north and the districts of Ernakulam & Idukki to the south. The Arabian Sea lies to the west and Western Ghats stretches towards the east. Thrissur Rural police district is positioned in south-western India (10.52°N 76.21°E). The district has a population density of 1,026 inhabitants per square kilometre (2,660/sq mi). The population growth rate over the decade 2001 - 2011 was 4.58% and have a sex ratio of 1109 females for every 1000 males. The literacy rate of Thrissur district is considered as 95.32%.
  Thrissur Rural Police District comprises 22 Police Stations in 3 Police Sub Divisions Irinjalakuda, Chalakudy and Kodungallur. Out of 22 Police Stations, 19 are handling law and order. The other 3 Police Stations are Coastal Police Station at Azhekode, Vanitha Police Station at Irinjalakuda and Cyber Police Station at Irinjalakuda. Apart from this, one Control Room is functioning at Kodungallur.
 It is entrusted with the responsibility of maintaining law & order in the rural precincts of the district, prevention and detection of crime, traffic management and various citizen centric services for the people of Thrissur Rural area comprising Irinjalakuda, Chalakudy and Kodungallur subdivisions.



Last updated on Wednesday 15th of June 2022 AM