Janamaithri Suraksha Project

Janamythri Police activities are organized with a view to give more confidence among the public regarding the service of police and to create a consciousness among them that police force is a companion of the public and there by receive their assistance in the detection of crimes and to provide better service to them.

  As part of the Janamythri programme 40 Beat Officers are have been designated in 19 Police Stations. Two beat officers were designated 18 Police Stations and in Irinjalakuda PS 4 beat officers were designated. The programme includes house visit, awareness classes etc.

As part of the house visit every beat officer visit at least 12 house in a day and collect the details regarding the family members and living conditions of the members. During the house visit, beat officer conduct a free interaction with the family members and collecting the details of the family members, special assistance is being given to the old aged people, bed ridden, old people residing along, children who dropped education and people who are financially very weak condition. Awareness and support is being given to the eligible people regarding various schemes provided by the Government to the weaker and old aged people of the society.

From 24.02.2020 M-Beat application is launched and after that the collection of data is being done using the application. M-Beat system is being implemented in all the police stations of Thrissur Rural except Vanitha P.S Irinjalakuda and Coastal P.S Azhikode & Cyber Police Station, Irinjalakuda. In the circumstance of Covid-19 pandemic, Janamythri beat officers are also engaged in the prevention activities against Covid-19.

The DySP C-Branch is the District Nodal Officer of the Janamythri Program and meeting of beat officers are being conducted once in a week and adequate briefing is being given to the beat officers by the District Nodal Officer. A WhatsApp group has been formed as Janamythri 2019 including all the Beat Officers, Assistant Nodal Officers and District Nodal Officer and the experiences of beat officers are shared and doubts are cleared by the Nodal Officer. Community Police Resource Center’s are functioned in Chalakkudy, Irinjalakuda and Mala Police stations. This resource center’s are being functioned as mediation center’s.

Janamythri Jagratha Samithis are being formed in every police station including police officials, ward members, merchant association members, persons participated in the field of education and health etc., and meetings are being held. Beat Officers are participated in the meetings of resident associations, School meetings and angenvadies etc.

Janamythri awareness classes are being conducted in the subjects of anti-drug, cyber offences, sexual offences against women and children, Nature protection, traffic awareness etc., Thrissur Rural Police also actively participated in the state wide programme conducted as ‘KunjeNinakayi’ and road shows are conducted in the entire police district to give awareness among the people regarding the sexual offences against the children. Assistance to senior citizens are being given in the information received through ‘Prasanthi’ helpline number. The senior citizens staying alone and suffering from various illness are given special attentions. During the Coivd-19 lockdown period, Janamythri Beat Officers have given more care to them by regular phone call and providing help in necessity.

Janamaithri Suraksha Project seeks the responsible participation of the citizens in crime prevention at the level of the local community, conserving the resources, both of the community and of the police, in fighting against crimes which threaten the security of the community. Experience shows that by seeking the active co-operation of the public in performance of police duties, the process of Law Enforcement becomes far more effective.

In Thrissur Rural District, Janamaithri Suraksha Project was implemented in 21 Police Stations

Janamaithri Police Stations in Thrissur Rural
  • Irinjalakuda
  • Chalakudy
  • Kodungallur
  • Valappad
  • Pudukkad
  • Anthikad
  • Mala
  • Cherpu
  • Vellikulangara
  • Athirapilly
  • Vatanapilly
  • Mathilakam
  • Valappad
  • Koratty
  • Kattoor
  • Kodakara
  • Varadrapilly
  • Aloor
  • Kaipamangalam
  • Coastal PS
  • Vanitha PS